Making Progress in Autism – Probiotics and more!

October 16, 2008 at 11:03 pm 4 comments

Thanks Alex for the following question about progress through probiotics: 

My 5 yr old son is on the gf/cf/sf diet and I’m just about to order lots of supplements online. After reading your Press On! it sounded like us, however we haven’t started any probiotic yet. My son’s “disagreeableness” (made sense to me!) is pretty bad right now, without any supplement. How long roughly was the “rough part” for you?

Did the new line of probiotics that you mentioned come out yet?

Thanks!
Alex

Alex,

Yes, the probiotic product (and other products we use) have been released and they are fantastic! The company is Neocore Spectrum, and the website is http://www.neocorespectrum.com. The probiotic is very high-potency with 25 + Billion CFUs (colony forming units). It is gluten-free, casein-free and also free from FOS (a prebiotic in many probiotics that feeds bad bacteria). It also is formulated so that the probiotics survive the stomach acid and can actually colonize in the intestines – where they can do their job.

We also use all the products offered by Neocore Spectrum – the multivitamin/multimineral, enzymes (both chewable and capsules), omega-3 fish oil (small gelcaps), liquid antioxidant extracts (my sons LOVE the Blueberry), and the Silver Renew gel. The Silver Renew skin gel has been wonderful for us – we use it on bug bites, skin irritations, eczema, and even used it on a viral rash called Molluscum. I recently had some horrible eczema flare-ups on my arms and used the Silver Renew and saw relief within minutes, and complete resolution in only a few days.

The thing I love best about the Neocore Spectrum products is that I really feel I am getting a value for my money. For example, the multivitamin/multimineral is very complete and is reasonably priced. It is well-suited for our autistic children. (I use the products for myself too!) It is free from copper and iron, it uses many natural forms of vitamins. It also contains the active forms of folic acid, vitamin B 12, B-6 (it contains P-5-P), which the information published by the DAN! doctors and the Autism Research Institute shows that autistic children have difficulties processing these vitamins and need the more active forms. There are even bioflavonoids for extra antioxidant protection. A multi like this is truly hard to come by!
Alex, to answer your question as to how long the most difficult part lasted – I must say that it took several months of working on the yeast imbalance before I noticed that my son’s behavior and mood improved and the “disagreeableness” began fading away.

As I mentioned, he was so toxic when we began the probiotic supplementation, that we saw his behavior worsen for the first few weeks. He even had some nights of rough sleep where he would kick and scream out at night. I now know that was the bacterial and yeast die-off. Now I know that activated charcoal pills can help alleviate some of the die-off reactions. (Make sure not to take the activated charcoal within 2 hours of eating or taking any supplements.) Also, it is important to stay away from sugar – even excessive fruit sugar (ex. we avoid dried fruit) and moldy foods. It’s also important to work on the overall health of the body – supplying the vitamins, minerals, essential fatty acids, and nutrition that the body, and specifically the immune system needs.

It is a lot of effort, but I must say it is worth it! Tonight as I was giving my boys a bath, I was thinking back a couple of years. I was remembering how difficult it was back then to give my son a bath. He would throw a constant fit during bath time – he didn’t like the water over his head, he didn’t like the smell of the soap (which was totally unscented!), he didn’t like the towel, he didn’t want his hair dried, and on and on! By the time I got him to bed, I would be in tears! Now our bath and bedtime routines are a joy! My boys hug and kiss each other goodnight and say “I love you!” to each other and to me! It is what I hoped, worked, and prayed for, and I am truly thankful! I pray for that same joy for you!

Blessings!

Entry filed under: biomedical treatments, Support, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Upcoming Teleconference Seminar on Causes and Treatment of Autism Getting Some Sleep! Solving the Night-Waking Problem in Autism

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Probiotics and More « Autism Today  |  October 17, 2008 at 5:35 am

    [...] Probiotics and More Making Progress in Autism – Probiotics and more! [...]

    Reply
  • 2. Sumi08  |  June 30, 2009 at 1:28 am

    What a wonderful website! Thanks for the resources and invaluable information! Your dedication really is helpful to so many people..I just had to say that.

    I do have a question. We recently used Culturelle “dairy free” version and for over a month couldn’t figure out why our son was nightwaking (2am till 6am). We have been GFCF for months and he was exhibiting the same behavior prior to going CF. Unbeknownst to me my friend told me her DAN said it STILL contained casein. I came across a website that claims it has trace amounts (15ppm whatever that means). The day we removed Culturelle he slept through the night (just like when we removed his milk). I find that to be more than coincidental. When I emailed Culturelle the rep reassured me that they send it out to a another company for inspection etc. but I’m not buying it. 4 days later my son is STILL sleeping through the night and the past month he exhibited the same “caseo morphine” high. Thank goodness my friend enlightened me..It really bothers me they are denying it because beyond how it affects my son neurologically, he’s highly allergic to it and has broken out in hives.

    Is there a good probiotic you could recommend that is indeed casein free?? Seems like many still have trace amounts.

    Reply
    • 3. acttoday  |  July 2, 2009 at 7:53 pm

      Hi Sumio8, I am glad you found information here helpful! I am so sorry to hear the problem your son had recently.
      Hi Sumio8, I am glad you found information here helpful! I am so sorry to hear the problem your son had recently.
      We have never used the Culturelle product (dairy-based or dairy-free), so I cannot comment from personal experience on that particular product. I would say that any product that causes your son to break out in hives is definitely NOT a product that is appropriate for him! He is obviously allergic to it. Certainly, casein intolerance and/or an allergy to a food or product can cause night waking. Again, I cannot say whether the dairy-free Culturelle contains any casein because we have never used the product.
      We have, however, dealt with night-waking episodes, so I can share from my experience with that. I have found that there can be many causes of night-waking. For example – gluten and casein intolerance, allergies (both food allergies, airborne allergies, allergies to mattress materials and materials in the room), serotonin and melatonin imbalances, yeast overgrowth, bacterial overgrowth, elevated ammonia levels, going to bed too late, toxicity of the body, pinworms, and gastric problems can all cause night waking. There could also be several of these issues working together to cause the night waking.
      For instance, we linked my son’s night-waking to serious bacterial and fungal intestinal overgrowth, which produced toxic metabolic byproducts (including elevated ammonia levels). When we aggressively treated the bacterial and fungal overgrowth, he was able to sleep through the night. One caveat – his nights became significantly worse for about two weeks before they got better. As the harmful bacteria and yeast died off, his sleep became severely disrupted for a short time. We used activated charcoal (several hours apart from any supplements or medicines!!!) to help reduce the symptoms. We worked with a DAN/Yasko MD through this process. If you are not working with a doctor with this type of training, it may be better to deal with bacterial and yeast overgrowth in a slow but steady way, to reduce the die-off symptoms.
      We have been very happy with the probiotic we chose for daily use – it is by Neocore Spectrum – called GI Maximizer. You can order online at http://www.neocorespectrum.com They are completely gluten-free and casein-free (and also free from FOS, which can be extremely irritating to those with GI issues in autism). I find that Neocore Spectrum’s 25 + BILLION capsules are actually more effective than another product we had used that was labeled as 75 billion.
      One last thought – after three years of my son waking up multiple times every night, I really needed to know WHY he was waking up in the middle of the night. At that point, I really prayed that the Lord would give me specific direction on what was at the root of the problem and what to take for it. I am so thankful for the answers I received! I pray for guidance for you and for health and healing for your entire family!
      Be blessed!
      “For everyone who asks, receives, and he who seeks, finds, and to him who knocks, it shall be opened.” Luke 11:10 NASB

      Reply
  • 4. Ken  |  August 4, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    Is it safe or any side effect to use up to 3 dose(75 billion) a day?

    Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Disclaimer

Autism-Changing Tomorrow (ACT) blog is maintained to provide a place where ideas and thoughts relating to autism and treatments for autism may be exchanged. The information on Autism-Changing Tomorrow is of a general nature and is provided with the understanding that ACT or any individuals or entities associated with ACT are not engaged in rendering medical advice or recommendations. Any information in the postings, messages, articles, comments, and publications in or on the ACT blog must not be considered medical advice or recommendations and such information should not be considered a substitute for consultation with a board certified physician to address individual medical needs.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

